determined by observing the drift of the balloon by means of radar or radio direction finding ground equipment. There are also 30 locations where the winds in the lower layers of the atmosphere are determined by observing free balloon drift by means of a theodolite or by radar. As in the case of the first-order synoptic reporting stations, these upper air weather observations are made available immediately to forecast offices for weather forecasting purposes, and the manuscript reports are collected at Meteorological Branch Headquarters for compilation of climatic statistics.

There are 1,366 weather observing stations in Canada classified as climatological stations where the observers record temperature extremes and precipitation once or twice daily and send in monthly data sheets. Most of the observers serve on a voluntary basis and willingly spend several hours a month on their hobby. In addition, many governmental and industrial organizations such as agricultural experimental farms and power companies have incorporated brief climatological duties into the general work of some of their employees. These climatological stations have contributed much useful information on temperature and precipitation for publication by the Meteorological Branch.

There are 574 stations classified as precipitation stations where rainfall and snowfall only are observed and recorded. Since precipitation varies more rapidly than temperature over short distances, a dense network of these stations is required, especially in large urban areas. Finally, there are 99 miscellaneous stations where observations of wind, sunshine and temperature are taken for special purposes. In all, the number of weather stations in Canada has been growing at an average rate of more than 100 a year for the past decade and thus a steadily increasing climatic intelligence is assisting Canadians in all economic pursuits.

Section 3.—Standard Time and Time Zones

Standard Time, which was adopted at a World Conference held at Washington, D.C., in 1884, sets the number of time zones in the world at 24, each zone ideally extending over one twenty-fourth of the surface of the earth and including all the territory between two meridians 15° of longitude apart. In practice, the zone boundaries are quite irregular for geographic and political reasons. Universal Time (UT) is the time of the zone centred on the zero meridian through Greenwich. Each of the other time zones is a definite number of hours ahead of or behind UT to a total of 12 hours, at which limit the international date-line runs roughly north-south through the mid-Pacific.

Canada has seven time zones, the most easterly being Newfoundland Standard Time, three hours and thirty minutes behind UT, and the most westerly Yukon (west) Standard Time, nine hours behind UT. In between, from east to west, the remaining zones are called Atlantic, Eastern, Central, Mountain, Pacific and Yukon (east). Yukon (east) and Pacific Standard in effect constitute a single zone.

Legal Authority for the Time Zones.—Time in Canada has been considered a matter of provincial rather than federal jurisdiction. Each of the provinces and the Northwest Territories has enacted laws governing the standard time to be used within its boundaries. These laws determine the location of the time zone boundaries. Lines of communication, however, have caused communities near the boundary of a time zone to adopt the time of the adjacent zone, and in most cases these changes are acknowledged by amendments to provincial legislation. During the two World Wars, there were federal enactments concerning time but these were of temporary duration. In 1941 the Dominion Observatory time was declared the time to be used for official purposes in Canada.